Artist: Kolja Gerstenberg
Title: Sand EP
Label: Smile for a while
Artwork: Carolina Nino
Remixer: Move D
Release Date: 04/01/16
Catalogue Number: S4AW006


A1. Sand
A2. Sand (Move D Remix)
B1. Mmmhh Jaaazz
B2. Driftin'


S4AW is coming up with another Deep House belter by another raw talent from the outskirts of Frankfurt. Kolja Gerstenberg is a 22 year old guy from Gießen / Germany. He's not really the typical producer of current times with his affinity to Funk, Soul, Disco & Jazz Rock. This faible brought him to study drums at a decent German university, and now he's more than ready to roll the drums for some Deep Shit!


The „smile for a while“ guys came across him via soundcloud and instantly liked his unique style of House Music, combining complex drumming with oldschool samples and crazy arrangements. One DJ hero they have in common loved his tunes too – Move D. Between his everlasting, world-wide tour routine he managed to squeeze in a bass line monster of a remix – the first he's done in three years!


“Sand” is some 60s Soul flavoured peak time tune you always wanna have in your crates, just for that special “hands in the air”-moment. As said before, David Moufang's remix is a rolling thunder of bass lines, like a little reminiscence of Prescription from Chicago.


“Mmmh Jaaaazz” contains not only a little bit of Jazz but also a tad bit of slow motion drum bangin'. And again the Soul references all over the place...


“Driftin'” closes this EP with some sweet analogue synthesizer sequences, floating softly through your ears. Yet it's got that rattling kick drum that sounds like Jon Bonham in his heydays. Slam dance the funk!


Buy Vinyl: | | | Bandcamp

DJ support:

 Laurent Garnier, Herbert, Kenny Dope, Cassius, Seven Davis Jr, James Zabiela, Trevino, Huxley, Maxxi Soundsystem, Tom Trago, Dusky, Chris Carrier, Gene Farris, Marcel Vogel, Till von Sein, Iron Curtis, Joris Voorn,  Red Rack'em, Jacques Renault, Deep Space Orchestra, Catz n Dogz, The Revenge, Charles Webster, youANDme, Richy Ahmed, Homeboy, Johannes Albert...